In Celebration of International Podcast Day iHeartMedia Is Excited to Announce the Second Annual iHeartRadio Podcast Awards!

Today is International Podcast Day, a moment where international podcasters, listeners, enthusiasts and leaders in the industry come together to recognize the power of podcasts! As the number one podcast publisher globally, iHeartMedia found it only appropriate to celebrate this day by announcing the return of the iHeartRadio Podcast Awards. The awards ceremony will be on Friday, January 17, 2020 at the iHeartRadio Theater Los Angeles. This is the second iteration of this ceremony, and it will broadcast and stream live across all iHeartMedia stations nationwide!

iHeartRadio Podcast Awards honors today’s most entertaining and innovative podcasts and spans across 30 categories. The awards salute not only the incredible talent and wide variety of podcasters and their voices, but also the emerging leaders across the booming podcasting industry. Looking for a taste of what to expect? Well, we can’t share too much just yet, but we can fill you in some of last year’s winners including Slate’s “Slow Burn” for Podcast of the Year, “Up and Vanished” for Best Crime Podcast, and “The Joe Rogan Experience” for Best Comedy Podcast. In addition, Marc Smerling, the host of “Crimetown,” took home the award for Podcast Innovator. And everyone’s favorite podcasting duo Dax Shepard and Monica Padman took home the award for Breakout Podcast of the Year for “Armchair Expert with Dax Shepard.”

More good news - podcast fans themselves will once again decide the winner of the “Podcast of the Year” award through online and social voting across Twitter and Instagram! Nominees will include podcasts from all creators, distributors and platforms, and a panel of blue-ribbon podcast industry leaders, creatives and visionaries will determine the winner across remaining categories including entertainment, comedy, crime, news, sports, food, LGBTQ+, business and more. In addition, this year’s awards will include three Icon Awards — The Innovator Award, The Social Impact Award and The Pioneer Award. Select category winners will be announced during the live show and stream filled with unique celebrations at the iHeartRadio Theater Los Angeles. More details will be shared soon.

Mark your calendars for January 17 and look for updates for the upcoming event from iHeartMedia. It’s going to be a night full of winners that you won’t want to miss!